Individual Decision

Representation on Outside Bodies – Thatcham

Volunteer Bureau

Report to be considered by:

Clir Anthony Stansfeld

on: 26 May 2005

Forward Plan Ref: ID0982

Purpose of Report: To consider nominations to the Thatcham Volunteer Bureau

Recommended Action: To agree the Council's representation on the Thatcham Volunteer Bureau

volunteer burea

Reason for decision to be taken:

• A vacancy has occurred following the resignation of the previous

representative.

List of other options considered: • None

Key background documentation:
• None

Portfolio Member: Councillor Anthony Stansfeld

Tel. No.: 01488 658238

E-mail Address: astansfeld@westberks.gov.uk

Contact Officer Details

Name: Margaret Blaine

Job Title: Policy and Research Officer

Tel. No.: 01635 519458

E-mail Address: mblaine@westberks.gov.uk

Supporting Information

Background

- 1.1 Following the elections in May 2004 Cllr Bob Judge was appointed to be the Council's representative on the Thatcham Volunteer Bureau. Cllr Judge has now resigned his position as a Councillor, and there is therefore a vacancy on the Thatcham Volunteer Bureau.
- 1.2 The Thatcham Volunteer Bureau provides transportation of walking impaired people and the use of a handybus for social events.
- 1.3 The appointed representative will be required to attend one evening meeting per quarter. The appointment is made for the life of the Council.
- 1.4 Cllrs Sheila Ellison and Owen Jeffery have expressed an interest in undertaking this role.

Appendices

None

Implications

Policy: The proposal outlined in this report is not in contradiction to any of the

Council's existing policies, including those outlined in the Corporate Plan.

Financial: None

Personnel: None

Legal: None

Environmental: None

Equalities: The Thatcham Volunteer Bureau promotes Social Inclusion in line with

the Council's Equalities Strategy.

Partnering: None

Property: None

Risk Management: None

Community Safety: None

Consultation Responses

Members:

Leader of Council: Cllr Graham Jones
Select Committee Chairmen: Cllr Gordon Lundie

Ward Members: Cllrs Mollie Lock, Sheila Ellison, Owen Jeffery, Terry Port, Jeff Brooks

and Keith Woodhams, Paul Pritchard and Alexander Payton

Opposition Spokesperson: Cllr Denise Gaines

Advisory Members: N/a
Local Stakeholders: N/a

Officers Consulted: Chris Gee, Steve Clark

Trade Union: N/a